Main / Society

The Federal Government sets standards for the issuance of sources of identification, such as driver's licenses

Alexander Alexeenko - 27.02.20

You may want to book your appointment at the DMV soon. Starting October 1, most American travelers must have a “REAL ID-compliant” driver’s license, passport, military ID or other acceptable identification to fly within the country. However, some 2/3 of Americans who have state-issued cards are not yet compliant with the post-9/11 security measure — CNN.


The head of the US Department of Homeland Security allows the state agencies to accept identity documents electronically. DHS Acting Secretary Chad Wolf noticed, that REAL ID compliant by October is one of the Department's top priorities. Wolf pledged that the Department will continue to examine other viable options to improve upon this process and continues doing everything it can to inform Americans of the requirement to obtain a REAL ID before the full enforcement deadline later this year.

What can be qualified as REAL ID?

  • REAL ID-compliant state driver's licenses or other state photo identity cards
  • US passport
  • US passport card
  • DHS trusted traveler cards (Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST)
  • US Department of Defense ID, including IDs issued to dependents
  • Permanent resident card
  • Border crossing card
  • State-issued Enhanced Driver's License
  • Federally recognized, tribal-issued photo ID
  • HSPD-12 PIV card
  • Foreign government-issued passport
  • Canadian provincial driver's license or Indian and Northern Affairs Canada card
  • Transportation worker identification credential
  • US Citizenship and Immigration Services Employment Authorization Card (I-766)
  • US Merchant Mariner Credential

Do you like this article? Please share this on your social media. It helps us to be better!

Last articles in "Society"